Thinking About Thanksgiving

I’m not that great at planning ahead.  Today I suddenly realized that Thanksgiving is just a week away, which means it’s time to at least start thinking about what I’ll make with my family.  If you’re in the same position, here are some ideas that I’m considering.

Last weekend I attended a cooking class taught by Jess of Get Sconed! and Chelsea of Flavor Vegan.  It was really awesome and informative.  Chelsea taught us how to make her recipe for Thanksgiving Gluten Roast, and it was delicious.  Thankfully, she’s posted the recipe on her blog.  I think the only change I would make would be using a little bit less tamari.  She’s posting her stuffing recipe soon, and I’m excited to see it.

At that class, Jess also taught us how to make pecan pie using Todd X’s recipe, which is actually the recipe I used for Thanksgiving last year.  Jess and I both agree it’s better with alcohol– whiskey, bourbon, or even rum is really good in it.  Todd X (note the X in his name) might not agree.  Last year my family said this was better than non-vegan pecan pie, so I think I’ll definitely be making it again.

Last year I also made Green Bean Casserole from the Fatfree Vegan Kitchen Blog.  It was really good even though it got burnt (my dad’s fault).  I’ve never had a traditional (as in, containing cream of mushroom soup) green bean casserole so I don’t know for sure how it compares but I would guess that this one is better.

Every year one of the biggest Thanksgiving controversies in my family is the problem of the potatoes.  Sweet potatoes, mashed white potatoes, or both?  I fall firmly on the both side.  My parents find making both frivolous and usually try to reason with me.  I maintain that it’s not Thanksgiving unless you have mashed potatoes (because you need to put gravy on something) AND sweet potatoes.  No, mashed sweet potatoes, though delicious, don’t count, because I wouldn’t put gravy on them.  For mashed potatoes and gravy, you can’t go wrong with Vegan with a Vengeance.  The Punk Rock Chickpea Gravy is delicious and will win anyone over, even if they are all, this is not gravy, gravy is made of meat drippings, this is mushed up beans.  Because it is delicious mushed up beans no matter what you call it.

As for the sweet potatoes, I love these Molasses Horseradish Sweet Potato Spears.  I usually cut them into cubes, not spears, though, and obviously I use Earth Balance, not butter.  A lot of prepared horseradish isn’t vegan, so read the ingredients, and consider buying fresh instead of jarred.

Last year I made chickpea cutlets from Veganomicon and they were a hit.  I think they are much better baked because somehow I am incapable of making the insides firm without burning the outsides in a pan.  I made mushroom gravy, also from Veganomicon, to go with them.

Most years I also make a salad with roasted golden beets, walnut oil, balsamic vinegar, mint and walnuts.  I love beets, especially golden beets, and I think they are best roasted.  Walnut oil complements them perfectly.  It’s nice to get some seasonal vegetables in your Thanksgiving meal.

What are you making for Thanksgiving?  Any ideas yet?  Any links to promising recipes?

7 responses to “Thinking About Thanksgiving

  1. Mmm…yes, bourbon is crucial in true southern pecan pie fashion – or maybe I just wish it as it’s SOP for my family’s pie making! Either way, it’s booze in the pie AND booze in the drinks…how can you go wrong?!

  2. do you change anything when you add alcohol to it?

    dang! maevis, how much food do you make for thanksgiving?? it sounds like so much food. really yummy food…except i could do without the horseradish stuff….

  3. I’m not going to make everything mentioned, I’m just weighing my options…

  4. Oh, and if you add alcohol, reduce the soy milk.

  5. aw, maeve, you’re such a good little blogger!

  6. i want green bean casserole
    I might make that for real thanksgiving when I’m sitting at home alone.

  7. i made the green bean casserole from fat free vegan kitchen last year too, and my dad burned it too!!! crazy! but yeah, it’s suuuuper yummy!

    so you recommend the pecan pie, huh? i’m looking all over for a good recipe to use for this thanksgiving and i’m freaking out! haha. i’ve never had pecan pie before so i dont know how to go about veganizing it to get the right flavors and texture.

Leave a Reply

