Hey Kids!

It’s veganmofo time!

Or, yesterday was the beginning of veganmofo time, but I was sleeeepy.

And I am now too, so I’m going to make this short.

I moved about a month ago, after living with my parents again for a bit, and I’m still working on stocking my kitchen so that I can cook whatever I want whenever I want.  I’m getting there.  For a few weeks the only spices I had were cumin, smoked paprika and cinnamon.  Those are good ones, don’t get me wrong, but it was limiting.  Smoked paprika does go in everything, though.  Now I’ve got a nice variety, but I haven’t quite gotten comfy in the new kitchen and I haven’t really been cooking as much as I do normally.  Or, I guess, the things I have been cooking are simpler but are actually much more complicated than Hamburger Helper or whatever most people in the country are making for dinner.  I guess I shouldn’t feel guilty for eating quinoa and kale and butternut squash and barbeque tofu just because I used bottled sauce for the tofu.

Anyway, I’ve been eating a lot of simple foods.  A lot of grain+vegetable+bean/tofu/tempeh/seitan sausage gifted from Jess of Let’s Get Sconed.  Sauce optional.  This month I’m planning on doing some fancier cooking, since it is veganmofo and all, but sometimes I’m just in the mood not to mess with my food that much.

I am curious to hear other people’s not-really-recipe recipes, for when they want to cook something tasty without thinking about it at all. I can make quinoa and kale with onions and garlic and lemon juice and some protein source blindfolded with my hands tied behind my back.

Sorry guys, I didn’t actually cook anything today, I just ate cold leftover tacos for dinner, otherwise i would have more to share.

Happy VeganMoFo!

2 responses to “Hey Kids!

  1. My go-to meal is the same as yours! Mine’s always quinoa/rice + tofu + broccoli and carrots. And tamari. We rock.

Leave a Reply

