Kinta

Today my mom and I went to Kinta for a late lunch/early dinner.  Kinta is on Belmont, across the street from Paradox, and features “new Malaysian cuisine.”  I started with mint soda, which was made with fresh mint and kind of like a virgin mojito.  And I love mojitos.  My mom got ginger ale which I believe was made with fresh ginger and was also very tasty.  As an underage person who does not particularly enjoy Coke or Pepsi products, I love seeing inventive non-alcoholic drinks on menus.  We got the battered vegetables as an appetizer– the batter is chickpea-based, so they were a little bit like pakoras, but I would have liked them more if they were less greasy.  They also had sort of a weird bitter aftertaste, which was odd.  They were still good because they were deep-fried vegetables, you know?

I ordered the curry noodles for my entree.  I love that you get to pick any four vegetables you want for the dishes– I got tofu, bell pepper, broccoli and mushrooms.   You also get to choose which kind of noodles you want.  I chose rice noodles.  I always feel like I make food sound really bad when I’m trying to communicate that it just wasn’t quite as good as I wish it was, so let me say that my food was good, ok?  I ate it happily, I enjoyed it, and nothing was majorly wrong with it– nothing was overcooked or otherwise gross.   I think my issue with the curry noodles was that I feel like rice noodles need a wetter sauce, and that I could sort of feel the the graininess of the spices, and also that I feel like there was too much of a spice that made the noodles kind of bitter, and maybe not enough of other spices.  I’m sure I’m making it clear that I am not a professional food critic.  I wish that I had gotten another dish, maybe one of the noodle soups, because I have heard such awesome things about this place, and I think I just ordered something that wasn’t really to my taste.  My mom actually really liked my noodles so maybe it really was just me.

Anyway, I want to go back to Kinta and try some other things, and drink a million mint sodas.

3 responses to “Kinta

  1. yeah! I am so glad you reviewed this spot. I have been wanting to try it out!

  2. The mint soda sounds so refreshing.

  3. Mint soda sounds interesting, I’ll have to try it sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

