Happy Holidays!

I know, it’s August, but it has been so hot in Portland, which meant it was the perfect time for an air-conditioned Holiday Office Party.  Jess and I co-hosted the party on Saturday night, and it was tons of fun. There was a food drive, a white elephant gift exchange, holiday-themed cocktails, and assorted vegan snacks, including a delicious vegan cheese ball.

Also, carrots!

Also, carrots!

It turns out there are tons and tons of vegan cheese ball recipes on the internet. Some use fake cheese, some don’t. I was intrigued by a recipe I found that used tofu and cashews, but I also didn’t have a lot of time, so I based my cheese ball on this recipe. But I was like, garlic flakes? I’ve got fresh garlic from the farmers market, thanks. Dried parsley? Hey, I’ve got all these fresh herbs in my window boxes, I don’t use the dried stuff! Just cayenne? Why not throw some smoked paprika in there! It was a hit, with vegans and non-vegans alike. I had honestly never eaten a cheese ball before, vegan or non-vegan, but I’m definitely making another one soon.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

2 responses to “Happy Holidays!

  1. ooooo, cheeseball! me wants!!
    i was so sad to miss out!

  2. That is an awesome idea! I want a freakin’ cheese ball.

Leave a Reply

